Adam’s Mustang

Adam’s Mustang had a mysterious battery drain (the battery would go dead overnight), so last weekend I decided to fix it.  After checking for burning light bulb and wiring shorts I figured out that it was the voltage regulator. Regulators are cheap and easy to install so off to Advance Auto to purchase one.  After installing it the battery drain was gone.

As I drove the Mustang I began to notice a hot smell, but the temperature gauge wasn’t working so I couldn’t tell if it was really hot.  I disconnected the wire from the temperature sending unit and grounded it, the gauge jumped to hot and I knew the problem was the sending unit.  Off to Advance Auto again.  I replaced the sending unit, drained and flushed the cooling system, installed a 195 degree thermostat and refilled the coolant system with new anti-freeze.  Now I could tell that it wasn’t overheating too badly, but it was definitely running hotter than it should..

I could have installed a 180 degree thermostat but I figured Adam will need the hotter on in those cold Wisconsin winters.  So, after scratching my head for a while, I consulted with my expert (Tom).  He came by and checked the fan clutch and told me it was bad, and that I should replace the water pump while I had the fan and fan cowling off.  So off to Advance Auto again.

They had the clutch in stock, had to order the water pump, it should be in Monday.  Sunday I removed the old water pump and cleaned the surface in preparation for installing the new one.  When I removed the water pump I decided that I might as well go ahead and replace the upper and lower radiator hoses and the 2 short crossover hoses for the heater.  Figured Adam would appreciate this next year during the Wisconsin winter. So off to Advance Auto again.  I picked up the hoses and a tube of gasket compound Monday and then took Tuesday off because of the rain.

Wednesday morning I started again, this time all went well and I finished around noon.  A short test drive and everything went well!

The Mustang is well again!

4 Responses

  1. sounds like a lot of work, that you of course probably enjoyed. i’m sure adam will appreciate the effort.

  2. Great ad for Advance Auto….you should submit it to them.

    MERRY CHRISTMAS to ALL!!

    Love, Sara

  3. Hey Uncle Buddy,

    When the heck are you going to update your website?? I have no life….I need to hear about YOU and Aunt Evelyn!!

    Love you

  4. No more complaints about my blog being delinquent…how about an update?

Leave a comment