Closer and Closer

The sunroom is now finished except for about 15 feet of window molding, the entire crown mold, and the bead board on the wall between the carport and the sunroom.  All the materials are bought and on site, the molding is cut, but not routed or painted.  Granny Grump’s decision to use stock lumber with routed edges was a winner.  The homemade molding really looks good and adds a custom look to the windows.

For the past few days Granny Grumps and I have been “customizing” the roll up/reed curtains.  They were a little too wide and a lot too long, plus they didn’t have valiance.  After trimming the length and width to size we used the leftover length to make pretty darn good-looking valiances.  The room looks really nice when the curtains are roiled up and looks great with them rolled down.

I had an insulated glass unit (or as the glass man called it an IGU) made for the octagonal window in the wall to the carport.  The glass men told me it probably wouldn’t fix the first time, but just bring it back and he would grind it down a little.  It took 3 trips to make it fit, but now it looks great.

We plan to use a small electric oil-radiator for heat on the 5-6 cold nights we will have this year, will install the a/c unit in the spring.

Tom and Buster came over Sunday morning and connected the wiring for wall plugs and the a/c unit.  Well I say Tom and Buster, but really Tom only drank coffee and complained about the way I put up the conduit for the wire, Buster did all the work.

I would have never thought putting the conduit up would have been such a pain in the patootie as it was, but working over my head and then pulling the wires through it was tough.  I borrowed a “wire tape” from James McCullough and thought all I had to do was push the tape through, tie the wire to the end, and pull the wire back through the conduit……………NOT!  The wire fought me and hugh up at ever junction, but finally we got it through the conduit.  Couldn’t have done it without the wire tape and Granny Grump’s help.

So far we love the room and are spending more time in it than we are in the den.

More to follow.

6 Responses

  1. the way tom and buster works reminds me of the way you boss me around when we “work together”

  2. What do you when we work together? I always do the work while you stand around with a dumb look on your face……….hehehehehe.

    It is 36 degrees in Mobile, Alabama brrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

  3. Actually Robert, I remember that you father called me “Robert” several times while I was helping him pull the wire through the conduit. I must have had a dumb look on my face.

  4. Oh wow!!! It looks fabulous! I’ll bet you get a lot of use out of that room. Now you have me wanting one too.

  5. I love the new room!! It looks great & ya’ll made it through without killing one another!!! Great job! Keep up the good work. We miss seeing ya’ll! Check out our blog for the new pictures!! Love ~ Jessica

  6. Looking good! Bout damn time you updated your blog!!!

Leave a comment