Das Boat

Well the pontoon boat is gone and I am ready to go fishing.  Sonny gave me his old boat, it’s a 1987 VIP with an 85 horse power Suzuki motor.

Granny Grumps and I went to Montgomery last week to pick it up.  Sonny had bought one new tire for it and we thought the other one would make it home.  Thank goodness we had a spare.  We had a blowout about 30 miles north of Saraland, and I have to tell you that changing a tire on the side of I-65 isn’t much fun.  Luckily the lugs came off easily and the GMC jack worked good on the boat trailer.

When I got it home, I went right to work on it, then I discovered a problem.  There was nothing to fix!  One lousy piece of rotten wood was all.  The hull is in good shape, the trailer is good, and the motor looks like new.  The gas in the built-in tank  was old and bad so I haven’t cranked it yet but knowing Sonny I am sure it is perfect.

I am taking it to the shop tomorrow to have the water pump replaced and the lower unit oil changed, then it’s off to the river!

2 Responses

  1. WOW! looks great dad. that’s quite a fishing boat.

  2. um. have you taken it out yet?

Leave a comment