43 YEARS

In 1965, a 21-year-old boy went to the rodeo with his sister and a friend of hers.  Forty-three years later they had been married for forty-two years and had two sons, two daughters in law, and seven grand children.  WOW, who would have thunk it?

In June or July of 1967 we went to Warm Springs, Georgia.  Evelyn was pregnant with Robert, but we managed to see Callaway Gardens and enjoy the trip, even if we couldn’t afford a motel room and could only stay for the day.  Tomorrow we will return to Warm Springs, this time for a 3-night stay in our travel trailer.

Over our married life we have enjoyed a few years of being broke, a few years of having enough money, and a few years of just getting by.  But, we always had love.  Sure we had our troubles, but we made it through it all.  I don’t know how or why Evelyn has put up with me all these years, but I am sure glad she did.

If I could give Evelyn what she deserves for Valentine’s Day and our anniversary, I would give her the world.  Instead I will just give her my heart, and maybe a token of my love.

5 Responses

  1. Okay, all you women standing in line. He is taken. Go away. I’m planning on keeping him.

  2. Happy Anniversary. (And get a room!)

  3. i agree with pam. get a room.

  4. Wow, they had domesticated animals back then?

  5. Wow, they had rodeo’s back then?

Leave a comment